Committees (regular committees and task forces) consider matters on behalf of the Commission in order to make recommendations for action by the Commission. Committee meetings are designed to allow for extended dialogue about proposed projects and issues. Commissioners and community members are encouraged to participate in these meetings.

If you're interested in volunteering, please complete our survey!

Regular Committees

Alcohol & Cannabis Licensing (AL)

Meets 1st Wednesday of every month at 7pm.

The committee may advise the Commission on issues relating to the DC Alcoholic Beverage & Cannabis Administration (ABCA), including:

Members: Melissa Coughlin (Chair), Xavier Halloran, Mark Hamala, David Perez

Community Engagement (CE)

The committee may advise the Commission:

Public Safety and Health (PSH)

Meets 3rd Thursday of every month at 6pm.

Topic: Monthly Public Safety and Health Committee Meeting

Time: Dec 21, 2023 06:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)

The committee may advise the Commission on issues relating to Metropolitan Police Department (MPD) and other government agencies, including:

Members: Daniel Ehrenpreis (Chair), Mark Galvan, Jireh Aki, Lukas Habosky, William Hensley, Michele Keegan, Tara Rial, Holly Rogers, Stavan Shah, Stephen Szibler, Ian Wing

Transportation and Public Space (TAPS)

Meets first Tuesday of every month at 7:30pm.

The committee may advice the Commission on issues relating to public space permit applications, issues relating to the District Department of Transportation (DDOT), or other public transportation or public space related proposals, including:

Rules and Procedures

Members: Aru Sahni (Chair), Joshua Blatt, Gordon Chaffin, Nick Frazier, Elwyn Gonzalez, Mark Hamala, Scott McFadden, Michael Savage, Brandt Witt

Next Meeting

Our next meeting will be on June 4th, 2024 at 7:30pm. It will be virtual.


Previous Meetings

Zoning and Development (ZAD)

Meets 2nd Wednesday of every month at 7pm. 

The committee may advise the Commission on proposed projects that are requesting relief from zoning regulations through the Board of Zoning Adjustment or other entities, including:

Members: Tobin Stone (Chair), Alaina Pitt, Reed Asselbaye, Joe Bishop-Henchman, Zhetique Gunn, Chris Johnson, JJ Manser, Cynthia Shih, Kyle Svingen, Caleb Watney


Meetings are hybrid, held on the 2nd Wednesday of each month at 7pm.


Library Task Force

Next meeting: Thursday, May 30 at 7:30pm, virtual:

Meeting ID: 870 4366 4838

Passcode: 625594

Established by ANC5F-25-006 to advise the Commission on actions to be taken to facilitate ANC 5F participation decisions relating to the proposed Eckington/Edgewood Library.

Members: Aleksa Basara, Erica Bickford, Stephanie Clinesmith, Jason Crighton, Ed Garnett, Erin Garratt, Alaina Pitt, Samantha Poon, Lily Roberts, Alayna Smith, Michelle Woody

Outreach Task Force

Established by ANC5F-25-005 to advise the Commission Chair on outreach tasks.

Members: Aru Sahni (Chair), Jennifer Anderson, Mark Galvan